Category: Uncategorized

  • June 2020 Editorial

    June 2020 Editorial

    Hello Colleagues, It is difficult to believe that the school year is almost over. What a strange way to end the year. The Released Officers at the CTA Office want to thank each and every one of you for all of the difficult work you have done over the past three months. Moving from in […]

  • New CTA Executive

  • Salary Indemnity Plan

    Ever wondered what to do when your sick days are running low and you need to take sick leave? The BCTF Salary Indemnity Plan is available for all regular contract teachers.

  • New Collective Agreement

    We have included a timeline of Collective Agreement gains for your reference. We have also updated the salary grids on our website.

  • Teacher Qualification Service (TQS) Changes

  • Leaves and Your Pension

    Members on a paid leave of absence (LOA), such as, sick days, Salary Indemnity Plan’s short-term disability, or long-term disability, will receive full pension crediting. That is, there is no pensionable service (PS) to buy-back.  Members on an unpaid LOA, may buy-back PS up to the limit allowed by the collective agreement (CA). This purchase is […]

  • Mentoring

    The District Mentoring Committee provides support to both mentors and Early Career Teachers (mentees). If you are interested in being a part of this valuable program as either a mentor or a mentee, please fill out the application form here: In addition, the Mentoring Committee is looking for one middle school representative and one […]

  • ICPDF Winners

    Dale Geck: School Focused Mental Health Conference – Saskatoon, Sask  – Fall 2020 Cara Boerner: 47th Association for Middle Level Education Annual Conference – National Harbour, MD – November 12-14, 2020 A reminder that two names are drawn for ICPDF grants at each General Meeting. The next General Meeting will be held on October 20, […]

  • Retirees

    Bonnie Burgess – Ed Centre Patrick Conrad – CSS Dale Dueckman – MSMS Robyn Hall – Learning Services Daryl Harder – CSS Patricia Hartman – MSMS Tim Janz – Strathcona Ken Nachtigal – Watson Charity Stobbe – Greendale Nancy Venhola – GW Graham Mary Wong – Strathcona

  • CTA Bursary Winners

    Kaia Vargas, SSS – Bob Fitzsimmons Memorial Bursary Jessica Liebe, SSS – Eric Munshaw Memorial Bursary Julian Larsen, SSS – Mike Stewart Memorial Bursary Anika Rideout, CSS – Craig Barclay Memorial Bursary Jordan Armstrong, GWG – Al Berry Memorial Bursary Zachary Klim, GWG – Pauline Capirchio Memorial Bursary